First day of Autumn

Today is the first day of autumn.  It doesn’t really feel like it, the days are starting to get colder, but I guess everything else will start kicking in a bit mid season.  Do you know that, autumn is my favourite season? I love hot chocolates, thick, woolly socks, creamy pastas, mulled rum (yes, rum, I will share my recipe with you in another post), and cosy sweaters. I also like to wear hubby’s oversized hoodies, even though he did buy me two of my very own. It’s just that something about it being his, which I love so much. They always smell like fresh spices. I love the smell of fresh spices. I think it makes it all the more ‘autumn-ey’.

I like the sound, the smell, and the colours of wood fires in the dark. I like to light up our fireplace and just stare at the gorgeous colours of the flame. I love to gaze out the window, especially in the mornings, and glimpse the beautiful orange-ness of nature. I love how all the leaves from gigantic trees, fall at our feet, and I love the ‘crunch’ they make as we walk over them.  I like to have candlelit dinners. I like to make casseroles and have live cooking dinners (my ever famous Miso Soup) with friends and family alike.

I like seeing acorns and pine cones on the ground. I love roasting marshmallow, I might even make s’mores this year. Did you know, hubby has never made s’mores before? It could be our first together.  I love baking and cooking and most importantly eating things with apples in them. I love the smell of freshly baked bread, which luckily for me, hubby loves doing. I love pumpkins. We did so well with Pumpkins this year, but alas, none grew to be massive and ripe and ready for Halloween. There is still time, I suppose, we will see how it fares. I love Halloween, and the mass of kids with their ‘Trick or Treat’.

I cannot wait to go walking around local parks and in parks in the middle of the city. They always look so splendid in autumn. I have seen mushrooms grow everywhere these days, and this year hopefully I will see the real red mushrooms with white dots on them. You know the ones, which you see in cartoons and children’s books. Did you know they were real? It blew my mind when I learnt that these pretty things were real and not just imagined up for children.

I may also start to keep a little journal about gardening, but I won’t make any promises. I would mostly do this for hubby, as he loves to garden and I love gardens. Hopefully it will inspire and motivate me to get the same level of energy and passion for gardening as he does, and most importantly, to have a beautifully planned out garden next year.  But like I said, don’t hold me to this one!

Wish you all a splendid Autumn!

Leave a comment