Pretty & Practical Present & Parcel

Today I am posting about a present I made for my best friend. We have been best friends since high school, but then, I moved away (well because my family did, and I had to with them). It was a really sad day for both of us. However, we maintained our friendship all these years and I am so glad to say that to this day, we are still the best of friends. She is also a great inspiration to me in terms of crafts and arts. I don’t think I would have taken so much interest in crafts otherwise.

This year for her birthday, I decided to make her something using embroidery hoops. I am terrible at sewing and so I wanted to create something that required no sewing, but, still used embroidery hoops. After experimenting with a lot of things, I got the perfect idea. I was going to make her a letter holder. Materials I used were: an embroidery hoop, 2 felt fabrics, washi tape, linen glue, craft button and scissors.

img_0313

The next part was packaging this, to send it all the way to Sydney (That’s where she lives). After having created such a pretty (if I may say so myself) gift, I didn’t want the packaging to be drab. I wanted to create a happy, colourful, lively packaging, something that would cheer her up just by looking at it. I printed out some printable pictures from Oh Happy days and cut and paste them onto the envelope. I also created a colourful ‘address label’ to paste onto the envelope.

img_0312

Leave a comment